Homemade Toasted Granola with Almond, Hazelnuts, Cranberries and Sultanas Recipe

Homemade toasted granola

Here in NZ, there are abundance of muesli and granola varieties available in the supermarkets. Hence it never ever crossed my mine to make my own muesli and granola. I always got it off from the supermarket shelves as it’s not too expensive either. That’s my excuse!

But since I have some marcona almonds that I would like to clear it off from my pantry, I thought why not used it to make toasted granola since I need to replenish my stock soon. So, I did some research and bought all the other additional ingredients needed to make my version of granola.

 

 

And oh boy, I am loving it after trying out my homemade granola!

 

It is definitely not as sweet as the one I bought off the shelves. Besides, I get to put in the nuts and dried fruit of my choice. Sounds good right? This will definitely be my recipe keeper and I will be making my own granola from now on.

In the process of making this, instead of using 100% rolled oats, I am using the newly launched product from Uncle Tobys. It’s the ancient grain, which consists of a combinations of rolled oats, rye, puffed millets and quinoa as per the photo shown below.

All photos, videos and recipes on CoasterKitchen are copyright protected. Please do not use the photos, videos and recipes without prior written permission. If you wish to republish this recipe, please rewrite the recipe in your own words instead of copy and paste and link back to my blog. Thank you very much!

 

INGREDIENTS

3 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1/2 cup chopped hazelnuts

1/3 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup brown sugar/ molasses
1/4 cooking oil

1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup dried sultanas

1. In a mixing bowl, add in rolled oats and chopped nuts. Mix it well.

2. Add cooking oil, molasses and maple syrup into a pot. Bring it to boil over medium or low heat, or until all the sugar have dissolved.

3. Pour in the syrup into oats mixtures, and mix well.

4. Spread the mixtures thinly into a baking tray lined with baking paper.

5. Bake in the preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for about 10 minutes.

6. Then bring the tray out, and give it a toss. Then continue to bake for another 10 minutes and repeat again until it becomes golden brown.

7. Set aside to cool completely.

8. Transfer the cooled toasted granola into a bowl. Add in the dried cranberries and sultanas and mix well.

9. Store it in airtight container.

Homemade Toasted Granola with Almond, Hazelnuts, Cranberries and Sultanas Recipe


Credit: CoasterKitchen

All photos and recipes on CoasterKitchen are copyright protected. Please do not use the photos and recipes without prior written permission. If you wish to republish this recipe, please rewrite the recipe in your own words instead of copy and paste and link back to my blog. Thank you very much!

Ingredients

  • 3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/2 cup chopped hazelnuts
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar/ molasses
  • 1/4 cooking oil
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup dried sultanas

Directions

  1. In a mixing bowl, add in rolled oats and chopped nuts. Mix it well.
  2. Add cooking oil, molasses and maple syrup into a pot. Bring it to boil over medium or low heat, or until all the sugar have dissolved.
  3. Pour in the syrup into oats mixtures, and mix well.
  4. Spread the mixtures thinly into a baking tray lined with baking paper.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for about 10 minutes.
  6. Then bring the tray out, and give it a toss. Then continue to bake for another 10 minutes and repeat again until it becomes golden brown.
  7. Set aside to cool completely.
  8. Transfer the cooled toasted granola into a bowl. Add in the dried cranberries and sultanas and mix well.
  9. Store it in airtight container.

Leave a Reply

